Saturday, May 17, 2008

Some Writing Contest Info...

This just arrived in my inbox via the rwacontest loop and I thought some of you might be interested in the information. The finalists are sent to an editor and an agent for placement, which is a little different than other contests, and it's open to published and unpublished alike.

For more info, please see the Northwest Houston RWA website.

Below, I've pasted what has been sent to me.

Good luck!


****Permission to forward granted****

Presents The Sixteenth Annual


ENTRY FEE: $20 NWH members; New lower fee! $25 non-NWH members
ELIGIBILITY: Competition is open to published and unpublished authors.
ENTER: First 25 pages, including prologue, if any. BOTH POSTAL AND E-MAIL ENTRIES ACCEPTED.

All entries will be sent to three first round judges: two published authors
and one unpublished author. The lowest score will be tossed and final round contestants will be chosen by the combined total of the final two scores. FINALISTS WILL BE SENT TO BOTH AN AGENT AND AN EDITOR FOR PLACEMENT.

Final judges:
Inspirational Category:
* Editor - Charlene Patterson, Bethany House Publishers
* Agent - Mary Sue Seymour, The Seymour Agency

Fantasy, Futuristic and Paranormal Category:
* Editor - Ami Russell, The Wild Rose Press
* Agent - Taryn Fagerness, Sandra Dijkstra Literary Agency

New this year! Young Adult Category:
* Editor - Karen Chaplin, Puffin Books
* Agent - Rachel Orr, Prospect Agency

Single Title Category:
* Editor - Lindsay Nouis, Penguin Group
* Agent - Carolyn Grayson, Grayson Literary Agency

Romantic Suspense Category:
* Editor - Patience Smith, Harlequin Silhouette
* Agent - Laura Bradford, Bradford Literary Agency

Contemporary Series Category:
* Editor - Faith Black, Avalon Publishing
* Agent - Pam Strickler

Historical Category:
* Editor: Hilary Sares, Kensington Publishing
* Agent: Michelle Grajkowski, 3 Seas Literary Agency

Important Dates:
Deadline: Sent via postal service: Post marked by JUNE 6, 2008 for mailed
entries; sent via e-mail: by midnight CST JUNE 6, 2008.

Finalists: Announced August 8, 2008.
Winners: Announced October 25, 2008 at the Lone Star Conference, Houston, Texas.

FMI: _
( or Melinda Porter at _bdogs80@aol.com_ ( .

****Permission to forward granted****